

DISTANCE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Adopted Minutes

April 17, 2017 Room 811 2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

1.	Call to Order	The Distance Education Committee Meeting was called to order at 2:30 p.m. by Interim Chair Sarah Nordin.
2.	Roll Call	Members present were Erica Beam (AT&B); Erin Duane (Lib); Elizabeth Freed (HS); Mary Gumlia (COUN); Winifred Hunton-Chan (LA); Glenn Keyser (LA); Laura Maghoney (AT&B); Sarah Nordin (Interim Chair/AT&B); Svetlana Podkolzina (MS); Robin Sytsma (HS); Lauren Taylor-Hill (SBS); and Carol Zadnik (DE Tech)
		Absent/Excused: Sandy Lamba (Dean of SBS); Scott Ota (IT); and Barbara Villatoro (MS)
3.	Approval of Agenda (4/17/17)	Sarah Nordin asked for a motion to approve the agenda. Adoption of April 17, 2017 DE Agenda: Motion to approve – Erin Duane; Seconded – Glenn Keyser; Passed – unanimously.
4.	Approval of Minutes (12/5/16)	Sarah Nordin asked for a motion to approve minutes. Adoption of December 5, 2016, meeting minutes: Motion to approve – Laura Maghoney; Seconded – Erica Beam; Passed – unanimously.
5.	Approval of Minutes (1/23/17)	Sarah Nordin asked for a motion to approve minutes. Adoption of January 23, 2017, meeting minutes: Motion to approve – Lauren Taylor-Hill; Seconded – Laura Maghoney; Passed – unanimously.
6.	Approval of Minutes (2/13/17)	Sarah Nordin asked for a motion to approve minutes. Adoption of February 13, 2017, meeting minutes: Motion to approve – Erin Duane; Seconded – Glenn Keyser; Passed – unanimously.

7. Public Comments

There are no public comments.

8. Guest

Saki Cabrera – Accreditation. Saki shared with the committee what she learned in February at the 2017 Accreditation Institute. She said she attended most of the workshops that concentrated on Distance Education, and she received a lot of information from others who have already gone through the accreditation process. Saki indicated that we have an opportunity to define the process in which we go through accreditation by being prepared and ensuring uniformity in best practices among all online faculty.

Svetlana expressed concern about possible equity issues with regard to future classes and the removal of lab time.

9. Course Shell Reviews

BIO 016 (PS)

Instructor withdrew request for a review of BIO 016.

BUS 018 (MD)

CIS 001 (ZC)

The shells listed above are deferred to the DE meeting on April 24.

MUSC 013 (KK)

ENGL 001 (ML-R)

COUN 007 (NM)

NURS 111 (EC)

Faculty members who reviewed the shells listed above recommended the courses be denied approval.

ENGL 002 (ML-R)

MGMT 193 (LS)

CDFS 070 (MP)

CDFS 080 (AA)

NURS 064 (EC)

SOC 001 (LM)

Faculty members who reviewed the shells listed above recommended the courses be approved with a provisional status.

ENGL 002 (BH)

HIST 037 (CC)

LR 010 (TM)

Faculty members who reviewed the shells listed above recommended the courses be approved as Final. Sarah Nordin called for a motion to accept all recommendations on

course shell reviews listed above.

Motion to accept decisions – Glenn Keyser; Seconded – Erica Beam;

Passed – unanimously.

10. New Course Shell

Review

Assignments

MKT 174 (LS) Laura & Erica

BUS 018 (SW) Mary & Svetlana SOC 002 (SM) Glenn & Winifred

MKT 171 (LS) Robin & Sarah

11. Adjournment

Sarah Nordin asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

Motion to adjourn – Erica Beam; Seconded – Laura Maghoney.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled

for April 24, 2017, in Room 811 from 2:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.