

## **DISTANCE EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

# Adopted Minutes April 24, 2017 Room 811

2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

		·	
1.	Call to Order	The Distance Education Committee Meeting was called to order at 2:30	
		p.m. by Interim Chair Sarah Nordin.	
2.	Roll Call	Members present were Erica Beam (AT&B); Erin Duane (Lib); Elizabeth	
		Freed (HS); Mary Gumlia (COUN); Winifred Hunton-Chan (LA); Glenn	
		Keyser (LA); Sandy Lamba (Dean of SBS); Sarah Nordin (Interim Chair/AT&B); Scott Ota (IT); Svetlana Podkolzina (MS); Robin Sytsma	
		(HS); Lauren Taylor-Hill (SBS); and Carol Zadnik (DE Tech)	
		(110)) Luci en rayio. Tim (050)) ana care. Luci m (05 recit)	
		Absent/Excused: Laura Maghoney (AT&B); and Barbara Villatoro (MS)	
3.	Approval of	Sarah Nordin asked for a motion to approve the agenda.	
	Agenda (4/24/17)	Adoption of April 24, 2017, DE Agenda:	
		Motion to approve – Lauren Taylor-Hill; Seconded – Erica Beam; Passed	
		– unanimously.	
4.	<b>Public Comments</b>	There are no public comments.	
		There are no passe comments.	
5.	<b>Discussion Item</b>	<b>DE Budget.</b> Sarah mentioned there may be some funds left in the DE	
		budget and wanted to get ideas from committee members on what	
		wish list items they would like to see considered for purchase. She said	
		the list could be passed onto the new incoming DE Coordinator.	
		Committee members mentioned the following items:	
		additional Camtasia licenses	
		BigBlueButton	
		Instructional Designer	
		media storage program	
		faculty training	
		<ul> <li>instructor stipends to meet and collaborate</li> </ul>	

Proctorio

# 6. Course Shell Reviews

CIS 001 (ZC)

BUS 018 (SW)

SOC 002 (SM)

Faculty members who reviewed the shell listed above recommended the course be denied approval.

MKT 174 (LS)

MKT 171 (LS)

Faculty members who reviewed the shell listed above recommended the course be approved with a provisional status.

Sarah Nordin called for a motion to accept all recommendations on course shell reviews listed above.

Motion to accept decisions – Winifred Hunton-Chan; Seconded – Erica Beam; Passed – unanimously.

#### BUS 018 (MD)

DE faculty members proceeded to discuss concerns about the course listed above. Upon completion of discussions, DE Chair Sarah Nordin asked for a motion to approve or disapprove.

Motion to disapprove – Winifred Hunton-Chan; Seconded – Erica Beam. Sarah Nordin called for a vote to deny course approval.

#### **VOTE: MOTION TO DENY BUS 018 (MD) COURSE APPROVAL**

Erica Beam	YES
Erin Duane	YES
Elizabeth Freed	YES
Mary Gumlia	YES
Winifred Hunton-Chan	YES
Glenn Keyser	YES
Laura Maghoney	YES
Svetlana Podkolzina	ABSTAIN
Robin Sytsma	YES
Lauren Taylor-Hill	YES

#### (0) NO (9) YES (1)ABS MOTION PASSED

Sarah will communicate this decision to the school Dean. She will also contact the instructor and refer him to reviewer comments on the course shell review checklist.

Sarah advised committee members that future deadline dates for course shell review submittals will be established once we get a new DE Coordinator on board.

### 7. Adjournment

Sarah asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

Motion to adjourn – Winifred Hunton-Chan; Seconded – Erica Beam.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for May 8, 2017, in Room 811 from 2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.