SOLANO COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

ELECTION OF BOARD MEMBERS

POLICY: The seven (7) Board Members are elected from seven (7) trustee areas, in accordance with provisions of the <u>California Elections Code</u>, by qualified electors of those trustee areas.

The term of office of each trustee shall be four (4) years, commencing on the first Board meeting in December at which the newly elected Governing Board meets. Elections shall be held every two years, in even numbered years. Terms of trustees are staggered so that, as nearly as practical, one-half of the trustees shall be elected at each trustee election.

The Governing Board has provided for the election of trustees by trustee areas.

Effective November 6, 2012, the trustee areas are:

- Area 1: Vallejo
- Area 2: Vallejo
- Area 3: Vallejo, Benicia, Suisun
- Area 4: Fairfield, Vacaville, Travis Air Force Base
- Area 5: Fairfield, Green Valley, Cordelia
- Area 6: Vacaville
- Area 7: Vacaville, Winters, Dixon

The election of a Board member residing in and registered to vote in the trustee area he or she seeks to represent shall be only by the registered voters of the same trustee areas.

In the event of a tie in Governing Board member general elections, the Governing Board determines the winner of the election by lot.

The Superintendent-President shall submit recommendations to the Board regarding adjustments to be made to the boundaries of each trustee area, if any adjustment is necessary, after each decennial federal census. The Superintendent-President shall submit the recommendation in time for the Board to act as required by law.

REFERENCES /	
AUTHORITY:	California Education Code Sections 5000 et seq.,
	<u>5019.5</u>
	California Education Code, Sections 5016(b); 5304, 72022.23

<u>California Elections Code</u> Solano Community College District Governing Board

ADOPTED: July 7, 1982

REVISED: March 18, 1987; May 19, 1999; June 6, 2007, October 3, 2012. March 1, 2017