## SOLANO COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT GOVERNING BOARD

# UNADOPTED MINUTES <u>Special Board Meeting</u> April 27, 2009

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

The special meeting of the Solano Community College District Governing Board was called to order at 6:00 p.m., on Wednesday, April 27, 2009, in the Administration Building, Room 626, Solano Community College, 4000 Suisun Valley Road, Fairfield, California 94534-3197, by Board President A. Marie Young.

# 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

At the request of Board President Young, Trustee McCaffrey led those present in the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

#### 3. ROLL CALL

#### Members Present:

A. Marie Young, President
Denis Honeychurch, J.D., Vice President
James M. Claffey
Pam Keith
Phil McCaffrey
Rosemary Thurston
Vacant - Area #1
David R. Brannen, Student Trustee
Tom Henry, Special Trustee
Dr. Robert Jensen, Interim Secretary

### Members Absent:

None

### Others Present:

Judy Spencer, Executive Coordinator, Superintendent/President and Governing Board

#### 4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Moved by Trustee McCaffrey and seconded by Trustee Keith to approve the agenda as presented.

#### 5. COMMENTS FROM MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

SOLANO COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT GOVERNING BOARD MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING – APRIL 27, 2009 PAGE 2

There were no comments from the public.

# 6. INTERVIEWS OF CANDIDATES FOR TRUSTEE AREA #1 (VACAVILLE, WINTERS, AND DIXON) VACANCY AND POSSIBLE APPOINTMENT

The Board interviewed the following candidates for the Trustee Area #1 (Vacaville, Winters, and Dixon) Board seat vacancy:

Grayland Hilt – Vacaville, California Teleconference at the Rosen Plaza Hotel 9700 International Drive, Orlando, Florida 32819-8122

> Alexander J. Alarcón – Vacaville, California Sarah E. Chapman – Vacaville, California Bruce W. DuClair – Vacaville, California

Board President Young thanked each of the candidates for their interest and taking the time to be interviewed by the Board.

Board President Young recessed the meeting at 8:10 p.m., and reconvened the meeting at 8:18 p.m.

Vice President Honeychurch stated how pleased he was that the Board had eight highly-qualified candidates from which to make their appointment to the Board, and appreciated the interest of each candidate in higher education for our Solano County residents.

Moved by Trustee McCaffrey and seconded by Trustee Claffey to appoint Brett N. Johnson to the Area #1 Board vacancy.

Moved by Trustee Keith and seconded by Trustee Thurston to appoint Sarah E. Chapman to the Area #1 Board vacancy.

The motion to appoint Mr. Brett Johnson to the Area #1 Board vacancy failed with the following roll call vote:

STUDENT TRUSTEE ADVISORY VOTE - David R. Brannen did not concur.

AYES - Trustee Claffey and Trustee McCaffrey

NOES – President Young, Vice President Honeychurch, Trustee Keith, and Trustee Thurston ABSENT – Vacancy, Area #1

The motion to appoint Ms. Sarah E. Chapman to the Area #1 Board vacancy passed with the following roll call vote:

STUDENT TRUSTEE ADVISORY VOTE – David R. Brannen concurred.

AYES – President Young, Vice President Honeychurch, Trustee Keith, Trustee Thurston

SOLANO COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT GOVERNING BOARD MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING – APRIL 27, 2009 PAGE 3

NOES – Trustee Claffey and Trustee McCaffrey ABSENT – Vacancy, Area #1

Board President Young announced that Ms. Sarah E. Chapman was appointed to fill the Area #1 Board vacancy.

### 7. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the special meeting was adjourned at 8:25 p.m.

RDJ:js

SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES.04.27.09.FINAL

	APPROVED
A. MARIE YOUNG	DR. ROBERT JENSEN
BOARD PRESIDENT	INTERIM SECRETARY

SCCD Board minutes are summarized per *SCCD Board Policy 1045 and 1046*. To listen to the full deliberation of the Board, please contact the Office of the Superintendent/President within thirty (30) days.