

Lt. Brian Travis - Chair Director of Public Safety (707) 864-7131 brian.travis@solano.edu

Robert Diamond-Vice Chair VP Finance and Admin (707) 864-7209 Robert.Diamond@solano.edu

Greg Brown – Member VP Student Services (707) 864-7159 Greg.Brown@solano.edu

Dwayne Hunt – Member Administrator (707) 864-7148 Dwayne.Hunt@solano.edu

Jim Petromilli - Member Director of Technology (707) 864-7275 Jim.Petromilli@solano.edu

Myron Hord – Member Director of Facilities (707) 864-7260 Myron.Hord@solano.edu

John Siefert – Member CSEA Representative (707) 864-4626 John.Siefert@solano.edu

Jeff Lehfeldt – Member Local 39 Representative (707) 864-7172 jeffery.lehfeldt@solano.edu

Jacob Hinkle – Member ASSC Representative (707) 863-7839 jacob.hinkle727@gmail.com

## Solano Community College Safety Committee

## March 22, 2018 @ 1300 hours

Pam Keith Conference Room Fairfield Campus, CA 94534

Safety Committee Members in Attendance: Greg Brown, Robert Diamond, Jacob Hinkle,

Myron Hord, Dwayne Hunt, Jim Petromilli, John Siefert, Rischa Slade, Brian Travis

**Absent:** Jeff Lehfeldt **Guest(s):** Rischa Slade

1. **Announcements**: Lt. Travis welcomed members. Meeting started at 1304 hours.

## 2. **Current Events/Concerns:**

- a) Lt. Travis provided the committee with an update on the March 12, 2018 bomb threat incident/evacuation. The investigation concluded with the arrest of a current student for making the bomb threats. The student was charged with two (2) felony counts of making threats to kill or cause great bodily harm and two (2) felony counts of making false bomb threats.
- b) Jacob Hinkle brought up concerns from student senators regarding communication gaps and other issues the student body experienced during the evacuation phase of the bomb threat incident. Other members also brought up some concerns but they also brought up good things the college staff and law enforcement did during the incident.

## 3. **New Business:**

- a) The committee spoke about new ways to improve our preparedness, training and response for future critical incidents. Committee members suggested to form the following committees to conduct research and formulate a plan for each of the following topics and report back to the committee at our next scheduled meeting:
- Building Coordinators (day/night coordinators) Dwayne Hunt/Rischa Slade
- Command Center Locations (primary and alternate) Greg Brown
- Communications Plan Jim Petromilli
- Emergency Pamphlets John Siefert
- Emergency Kits Jacob Hinkle
- Transportation Plan Myron Hord
- 4. **Future Meeting** April 5, 2018 at 0900 hours / Pam Keith Conference Room.
- 5. **Adjournment** We adjourned at 1355 hours