

## **ACADEMIC SENATE**

## **AGENDA**

April 9, 2018 Honeychurch Board Room 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm

1. Call to order

2. Roll Call

Academic Senate: Michael Wyly (President), Erin Duane (Vice President/Secretary/Treasurer), Nick Cittadino, Rusty Mayes, Cristina Young, Terri Pearson-Bloom, Lue Cobene, Scott Parrish, Andrew Wesley, Janene Whitesell, LaVonne Slaton, Anne Niffenegger, Margherita Molnar, Lauren Taylor-Hill, Derek Lan, Rachel Purdie, Erica Beam, and Jim DeKloe.

**Guests:** Celia Esposito-Noy (Superintendent-President), David Williams (Vice President of Academic Affairs), Ferdinanda Florence, Josh Scott, Michelle Smith, and Amy Obegi.

3. Agenda Approval

April 9, 2018

4. Approval of Minutes

March 19, 2018

5. Comments from the Public

Three minutes are allotted per person.

6. AS President Update

#### Academic Senate President Report (10 minutes).

6.1 Area B Meeting and Legislature Report

6.2 2018 Election Update: At-Large Senator and Adjunct Senator

2016-2018 Term	2018-2020 Term	Department
Nicholas Cittadino	Rebecca LaCount	Counseling
Rusty Mayes		School of CTE & Business
Cristina Young	Randy Robertson	School of Mathematics & Science
Terri Pearson-Bloom		School of Health Sciences
Lue Cobene		School of Liberal Arts
Derek Lan		School of Social & Behavioral Sciences
Scott Parrish	TBD Election	At-Large Senator
Andrew Wesley	TBD Election	Adjunct Faculty Representative

7. Superintendent-President Report

Celia Esposito-Noy (10minutes)

8. VP of Academic Affairs Report

David Williams (5 minutes)

# 9. Consent Agenda – Action Item

9.1 Interview Panel for School Coordinator for Health Science: Ginger Cain, Jeff Cardinal, and Terri Pearson-Bloom (3 minutes)

# 10. Action Items, Including Items Removed From Consent

10.1 Resolutions In Support of #NeverAgain Campaign – Michael Wyly (10 minutes)

10.2 BP 4003 Emeritus Recommendation – Cristina Young and Derek Lan (20 minutes)

10.3 ASCCC Resolutions For 2018 Spring Plenary – Michael Wyly (15 minutes)

10.4 SLOs and PLOs Approval Work Flow on META – Amy Obegi (5 minutes).

# 11. Information/Discussion Items

11.1 Review of Proposed Resolutions for 2018 Spring Plenary – (15 minutes)

11.2 Guided Pathway Plan Submitted on March 30, 2018 – David Williams and Michael Wyly (10 minutes)

#### 12. Reports

12.1 Curriculum – Jim DeKloe (1<sup>st</sup> meeting of the month – 5 minutes) 12.2 Basic Skills – Joshua Scott (1<sup>st</sup> meeting of the month – 5 minutes) 12.3 Faculty Development/Flex Cal – Michelle Smith (1<sup>st</sup> meeting of the month- 5 minutes)

#### 13. Other Committees

13.1 Guided Pathways Updates – David Williams and Michael Wyly (5 minutes)

# 14. Upcoming Items and/or Action Reminder

14.1 Curriculum – Jim DeKloe (1<sup>st</sup> meeting of the month – 5 minutes) 14.2 Basic Skills – Joshua Scott (1<sup>st</sup> meeting of the month – 5 minutes)

14.3 Faculty Development/Flex Cal – Michelle Smith (1st meeting of the month- 5 minutes)

14.4 Assessment Committee – Amy Obegi (2nd meeting of the month - 5 minutes)

14.5 Academic Program Review – Ferdinanda Florence (2nd meeting of the month - 5 minutes)

14.6 Distance Education – Erica Beam (2nd meeting of the month - 5 minutes)

14.7 AP 6000 Series

14.8 Strong Workforce

14.9 Curriculum Committee Handbook – Lisa Abbott and Jim DeKloe

14.10 2019-20 Academic Calendar – Joe Conrad

14.11 Study Abroad

#### 15. Adjournment

## ALL MEETINGS WILL BE HELD FROM 3:00-5:00 PM IN THE BOARD ROOM UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED:

April 9, 2018 April 23, 2018 May 7, 2018 May 14, 2018