

# **ACADEMIC SENATE**

## **AGENDA**

January 10, 2019 Fish Bowl – Room 1421 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

		_		_
1.	-	+~	~	der
1.	Lai	LO	u	uer

#### 2. Roll Call

Academic Senate Officers: LaNae Jaimez (President), Josh Scott (Vice President), Erin Duane (Secretary / Treasurer - At-Large) and Michael Wyly (Past President/Ex-Officio).

**Academic Senate:** Andrew Wesley, Anthony Ayala, Janene Whitesell, Jose Cortes, Lauren Taylor-Hill, Lavonne Slaton, Margherita Molnar, Rachel Purdie, Randy Robertson, Rebecca LaCount, Rusty Mayes, Scott Parrish, Terri Pearson-Bloom, and Vitalis Enemmuo.

Sheila Kaushal (Administrative Assistant)

### **Ex Officio:**

Amy Obegi (Assessment Chair), Erica Beam (Distance Education Chair), Ferdinanda Florence (Academic Program Review Chair), Jim DeKloe (Curriculum Chair), and Michelle Smith (Professional Development/Flex Cal Chair).

**Guests:** Celia Esposito-Noy (Superintendent-President), David Williams (Vice President of Academic Affairs).

3. Agenda approval

January 10, 2019

4. Approval of Minutes

May 14, 2018 and December 3, 2018

5. Comments from the Public

Three minutes are allotted per person.

6. AS President Update

### **Academic Senate President Report (15 minutes)**

- 6.1 Early College Supervision
- 6.2 Nomination for State Hayward Award
- 6.3 Brainstorming Techniques to Address the SCFF (Student Center Funding Form)

6.4 Other

7. Superintendent-President Report Celia Esposito-Noy (10 minutes).

8. VP of Academic Affairs Report

8.1 Update on Policies and Procedures (10 mins)

9. Consent Agenda – Action Item

There are no items on this section.

- 10. Action Items, Including Items Removed from Consent
- 10.1 Board For Diversity Form Names of Awardees LaNae Jaimez (5 mins)
- 10.2 Master Assessment, Curriculum Review and Program Review Schedule LaNae Jaimez (5 mins)
- 11. Information/Discussion Items
- 11.1 Increase Monetary Award for Distinguished Faculty LaNae Jaimez (10 minutes)
- 11.2 Create Senate Leadership Scholarship for Students LaNae Jaimez (10 minutes)
- 11.3 Academic Senate Goals and Priorities 2018-19 LaNae Jaimez (30 mins)
- 11.4 Tenure Tea Celebration LaNae Jaimez (10 mins)
- 11.5 Distinguished Faculty Committee LaNae Jaimez (10 mins)

- 12. Reports
- 12.1 Student Success and Equity Joshua Scott (5 mins)
- 12.2 Curriculum Jim DeKloe (5 mins)
- 13. Other Committees
- 13.1 Guided Pathways Steering Committee Michael Wyly (5 mins)
- 14. Upcoming Items and/or Action Reminder
- 14.1 Academic Program Review Ferdinanda Florence (1st meeting of the month)
- 14.2 Student Success and Equity Joshua Scott (1st meeting of the month)
- 14.3 Curriculum Jim DeKloe (1st meeting of the month)
- 14.4 Assessment Committee Amy Obegi (2<sup>nd</sup> meeting of the month)
- 14.5 Distance Education Erica Beam (2<sup>nd</sup> meeting of the month)
- 14.6 Professional Development/FlexCal Michelle Smith (2<sup>nd</sup> meeting of the month)
- 14.7 Guided Pathways Steering Committee Michael Wyly (1<sup>st</sup> meeting of the month)14.8 First Year Experience Melissa Reeve (1<sup>st</sup> meeting of the month)
- 14.9 Course Sequencing Template Feedback and version 2 with timeline

15. Adjournment	

ALL MEETINGS WILL BE HELD FROM 3:00-5:00 PM IN THE BOARD ROOM UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED

January 28, 2019 February 4, 2019 February 25, 2019 March 4, 2019 March 18, 2019 April 1, 2019 April 22, 2019

May 6, 2019

May 13, 2019