

ACADEMIC SENATE

AGENDA

March 4, 2019

Honeychurch Board Room - Building 600 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

1.	-	1 +~	order	
1.	Lai	LU	oruei	

2. Roll Call

Academic Senate Officers: LaNae Jaimez (President), Josh Scott (Vice President), Erin Duane (Secretary/Treasurer-At-Large), and Michael Wyly (Past President/Ex-Officio).

Academic Senate: Andrew Wesley, Anthony Ayala, Brian Purcell, Janene Whitesell, Jose Cortes, Lauren Taylor-Hill, Lavonne Slaton, Rachel Purdie, Randy Robertson, Rebecca LaCount, Rusty Mayes, Scott Parrish, Terri Pearson-Bloom, and Vitalis Enemmuo.

Sheila Kaushal (Administrative Assistant)

Ex Officio:

Amy Obegi (Assessment Chair), Erica Beam (Distance Education Chair), Ferdinanda Florence (Academic Program Review Chair), Jim DeKloe (Curriculum/Tech Review Chair), Josh Scott (Student Success and Equity Chair), and Michelle Smith (Professional Development/Flex Cal Chair).

Guests: Celia Esposito-Noy (Superintendent-President) and David Williams (Vice President of Academic Affairs).

3. Agenda Approval

March 4, 2019

4. Approval of Minutes

February 25, 2019

5. Comments from the Public

Three minutes are allotted per person.

6. AS President Update

Academic Senate President Report (15 minutes)

- 6.1 Academic Senate Elections 2019-2021 Term: At-Large Senator and Adjunct Faculty Representative
- 6.2 Make Space Senate Meeting Moved to April 1, 2019
- 6.3 Other

7. Superintendent-President Report Celia Esposito-Noy (10 minutes).

8. VP of Academic Affairs Report

David Williams (10 minutes).

9. Consent Agenda – Action Item

There are no items on this section.

10. Action Items, Including Items Removed from Consent

There are no items on this section.

11. Information/Discussion Items

- 11.1 Guided Pathway Update: Course Sequencing, Areas of Emphasis (i.e. Career Pathways), and Next Steps Michael Wyly (25 minutes)
- 11.2 Faculty Mentoring Program LaNae Jaimez (5 minutes)
- 11.3 Faculty Marshall For Graduation (May 23, 2019, Time: TBD)—LaNae Jaimez (5 minutes)
- 11.4 Senate Constitution and By-Laws Update LaNae Jaimez (10 minutes)
- 11.5 Brain Storm Topics for Discussion Items LaNae Jaimez (10 minutes)
- 11.6 Score Card/Simplified Metrics/Local Goal Setting LaNae Jaimez (15 minutes)

- 12. Reports
- 12.1 Academic Program Review Ferdinanda Florence (5 minutes)
- 12.2 Student Success and Equity Joshua Scott (5 minutes)
- 12.3 Curriculum Jim DeKloe (5 minutes)
- 13. Other Committees
- 13.1 Guided Pathways Steering Committee Michael Wyly (item 11.1)
- 14. Upcoming Items and/or Action Reminder
- 14.1 Academic Program Review Ferdinanda Florence (1st meeting of the month)
- 14.2 Student Success and Equity Joshua Scott (1st meeting of the month)
- 14.3 Curriculum Jim DeKloe (1st meeting of the month)
- 14.4 Assessment Committee Amy Obegi (2nd meeting of the month)
- 14.5 Distance Education Erica Beam (2nd meeting of the month)
- 14.6 Professional Development/FlexCal Michelle Smith (2nd meeting of the month)
- 14.7 Guided Pathways Steering Committee Michael Wyly (1st meeting of the month)
- 14.8 First Year Experience Melissa Reeve (2nd meeting of the month)

15. Adjournment		

ALL MEETINGS WILL BE HELD FROM 3:00-5:00 PM IN THE BOARD ROOM UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED

March 18, 2019 April 1, 2019 April 22, 2019 May 6, 2019 May 13, 2019