

## **ACADEMIC SENATE**

### **AGENDA**

March 18, 2019 Boardroom - Building 600 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

1.	Cal	l ta	orc	lor

#### 2. Roll Call

**Academic Senate Officers:** LaNae Jaimez (President), Josh Scott (Vice President), Erin Duane (Secretary / Treasurer - At-Large), and Michael Wyly (Past President/Ex-Officio).

**Academic Senate:** Andrew Wesley, Anthony Ayala, Brian Purcell, Erica Beam, Janene Whitesell, Jose Cortes, Lauren Taylor-Hill, Rachel Purdie, Randy Robertson, Rebecca LaCount, Rusty Mayes, Scott Parrish, Terri Pearson-Bloom, and Vitalis Enemmuo.

Sheila Kaushal (Administrative Assistant)

#### **Ex Officio:**

Amy Obegi (Assessment Chair), Erica Beam (Distance Education Chair), Ferdinanda Florence (Academic Program Review Chair), Jim DeKloe (Curriculum Chair), and Michelle Smith (Professional Development/Flex Cal Chair).

**Guests:** Celia Esposito-Noy (Superintendent-President) and David Williams (Vice President of Academic Affairs).

3. Agenda approval

March 18, 2019

4. Approval of Minutes

March 4, 2019

5. Comments from the Public

Three minutes are allotted per person.

6. AS Vice President Update

#### **Academic Senate Vice President Report (5 minutes)**

6.1 Academic Senate April 1, 2019 at Maker Space from 2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. and at Advance Manufacturing Lab from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

6.2 AGS Advisors

6.3 53<sup>rd</sup> Spring Session Resolutions

6.4 Other

## 7. Superintendent-President Report

## Celia Esposito-Noy (10 minutes).

# 8. VP of Academic Affairs Report

## David Williams (10 minutes).

# 9. Consent Agenda – Action Item

- 9.1 Mathematics Hiring Committee: Svetlana Podkolzina, Mary Valch, Alan Jian, and Will Martinelli.
- 9.2 Chemistry Adjunct Hiring Committee: Josh Higashi and Kiran Kaur

# 10. Action Items, Including Items Removed from Consent

There are no items on this section.

# 11. Information/Discussion Items

- 11.1 Update on Fee Increases Rob Diamond (20 minutes)
- 11.2 Math AB705 Update Sarah Donovan (15 minutes)
- 11.3 Canvas Data and OEI Exchange Survey for Faculty Erica Beam (15 minutes)
- 11.4 Senate Student Scholarship for Students Task Force Rebecca LaCount, Andrew Wesley, and Lauren Taylor-Hill (10 minutes)
  11.5 Distinguished Faculty Task Force Update Rachel Purdie and Andrew Wesley (5 minutes)
- 11.6 AP/BP 4003 Emeritus Revised Spring 2019 Josh Scott and David Williams (20 minutes)

#### 12. Reports

- 12.1 Assessment Committee Amy Obegi (5 minutes)
- 12.2 Distance Education Erica Beam (see item 11.3)
- 12.3 Professional Development/FlexCal Michelle Smith (2 minutes)

#### 13. Other Committees

13.1 First Year Experience – Melissa Reeve (5 minutes)

# 14. Upcoming Items and/or Action Reminder

- 14.1 Academic Program Review Ferdinanda Florence (1st meeting of the month)
- 14.2 Student Success and Equity Joshua Scott (1<sup>st</sup> meeting of the month)
- 14.3 Curriculum Jim DeKloe (1<sup>st</sup> meeting of the month)
- 14.4 Assessment Committee Amy Obegi (2<sup>nd</sup> meeting of the month)
- 14.5 Distance Education Erica Beam (2<sup>nd</sup> meeting of the month)
- 14.6 Professional Development/FlexCal Michelle Smith (2<sup>nd</sup> meeting of the month)
- 14.7 Guided Pathways Steering Committee Michael Wyly (1st meeting of the month)
- 14.8 First Year Experience Melissa Reeve (2<sup>nd</sup> meeting of the month)
- 14.9 Smoke Days Lieutenant Travis
- 14.10 Program Review eLumen Update-Ferd Florence

15. Adjournment	
ALL MEETINGS WILL BE HELD I	FROM 3:00-5:00 PM IN THE BOARD ROOM UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED

April 1, 2019 (Maker Space/Advance Manufacturing)

April 22, 2019