

ACADEMIC SENATE

AGENDA

May 6, 2019

Honeychurch Board Room – Building 600 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm

1	 -1	1+0	ord	or
	ıaı	ιτn	nrn	ρr

2. Roll Call

Academic Senate Officers: LaNae Jaimez (President), Josh Scott (Vice President), Erin Duane (Secretary / Treasurer - At-Large), and Michael Wyly (Past President/Ex-Officio).

Academic Senate: Andrew Wesley, Anthony Ayala, Brian Purcell, Erica Beam, Janene Whitesell, Jose Cortes, Lauren Taylor-Hill, Rachel Purdie, Randy Robertson, Rebecca LaCount, Rusty Mayes, Scott Parrish, Terri Pearson-Bloom, and Vitalis Enemmuo.

Sheila Kaushal (Administrative Assistant)

Ex Officio:

Amy Obegi (Assessment Chair), Erica Beam (Distance Education Chair), Ferdinanda Florence (Academic Program Review Chair), Jim DeKloe (Curriculum Chair), and Michelle Smith (Professional Development/Flex Cal Chair).

Guests: Celia Esposito-Noy (Superintendent-President) and David Williams (Vice President of Academic Affairs).

3. Agenda approval

May 6, 2019

4. Approval of Minutes

April 22, 2019

5. Comments from the Public

Three minutes are allotted per person.

6. AS President Update

Academic Senate President Report (10 minutes)

- 6.1 Introducing SCC Academic Senators 2019-21 Term
- 6.2 May 23, 2019 Commencement Ceremony
- 6.3 Assessment Committee Coordinator Update
- 6.4 Academic Senate Calendar AY 2019-18
- 6.5 SCC 2020-21 Calendar Update
- 6.6 Faculty Leadership Institute Attendees: Rachel Purdie and Lauren Taylor-Hill (June 13-15, 2019, Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel)
- 6.7 Distinguished Faculty Award 2018-19

6.8 SCC Academic Senate Task Force List 6.9 Other

7. Superintendent-President Report

Celia Esposito-Noy (5 minutes).

8. VP of Academic Affairs Report

David Williams (5 minutes)

9. Consent Agenda – Action Item

- 9.1 AP/BP 6410 Grading and Academic Record Symbols LaNae Jaimez and David Williams (15 minutes)
- 9.2 AP/BP 4003 Emeritus Revised Spring 2019 LaNae Jaimez and David Williams (5 minutes)
- 9.3 AP/BP 6200 Graduation Requirements for Degree and Certificates LaNae Jaimez and David Williams (10 minutes)

10. Action Items, Including Items Removed from Consent

- 10.1 Student Equity Plan Dwayne Hunt (15 minutes)
- 10.2 Strategic Plan LaNae Jaimez and David Williams (10 minutes)

11. Information/Discussion Items

- 11.1 Student Overcoming Adversity and Recidivism Damany Fisher (5 minutes)
- 11.2 Senate Student Scholarship for Student Task Force Rebecca LaCount, Andrew Wesley, and Lauren Taylor-Hill (5 minutes)
 11.3 OER Working Group Update Kitty Luce (10 minutes)
- 11.4 eLumen Feedback Discussion Ferdinanda Florence, Amy Obegi, and Lisa Abbott (15 minutes)
- 11.5 Academic Senate Priorities for 2019-20 AY LaNae Jaimez (15 minutes)
- 11.6 Guided Pathway Update Michael Wyly (10 minutes)
- 11.7 Faculty/Staff Profesional Development Grant Application LaNae Jaimez (5 minutes)

12. Reports

- 12.1 Academic Program Review Ferdinanda Florence (5 minutes)
- 12.2 Student Success and Equity Joshua Scott (5 minutes)
- 12.3 Curriculum Jim DeKloe (5 minutes)
- 12.4 Assessment Committee Amy Obegi (5 minutes)
- 12.5 Distance Education Erica Beam (5 minutes)
- 12.6 Professional Development/FlexCal Michelle Smith (see item 11.7)

13. Other Committees

- 13.1 Guided Pathways Steering Committee Michael Wyly (see item 11.6)
- 13.2 First Year Experience Melissa Reeve (5 minutes)

14. Upcoming Items and/or Action Reminder	There are no items on this section.
15. Adjournment	
ALL MEETINGS WILL BE HELD	 FROM 3:00-5:00 PM IN THE BOARD ROOM LINLESS OTHERWISE NOTE

May 13, 2019 (Tentative)