

ACADEMIC SENATE

AGENDA

September 17, 2018
Boardroom - Building 600
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

1	Cal	1+	~ ~	١rd	or
•	 ıaı		"	1111	

2. Roll Call

Academic Senate Officers: LaNae Jaimez (President), Josh Scott (Vice President), Erin Duane (Secretary / Treasurer - At-Large). Michael Wyly (Past President/Ex-Officio)

Academic Senate: Andrew Wesley, Anne Niffenegger, Anthony Ayala, Janene Whitesell, Jose Cortes, Lauren Taylor-Hill, Lavonne Slaton, Margherita Molnar, Rachel Purdie, Randy Robertson, Rebecca LaCount, Rusty Mayes, Scott Parrish, Terri Pearson-Bloom.

Sheila Kaushal (Administrative Assistant)

Ex Officio:

Amy Obegi (Assessment Chair), Erica Beam (Distance Education Chair), Ferdinanda Florence (Academic Program Review Chair), Jim DeKloe (Curriculum Chair), and Michelle Smith (Professional Development/Flex Cal Chair).

Guests: Celia Esposito-Noy (Superintendent-President), David Williams (Vice President of Academic Affairs),

3. Agenda approval

September 17, 2018

4. Approval of Minutes

September 10, 2018

5. Comments from the Public

Three minutes are allotted per person.

6. AS President Update

Academic Senate President Report (15 minutes)

6.01 Hiring committee appointments

Controller – completed

Dean of Enrollment Services – completed

6.02 Committee appointment

Student Equity & Success – Terri Pearson-Bloom (Health Sciences)

6.03 Meeting with ASTC/George

6.04 Offsite Meeting Fall 2018 – Biotech Building VV October 15, 2018

6.5 other

7. Superintendent-President Report Celia Esposito-Noy (10 minutes).

8. VP of Academic Affairs Report

David Williams (10 minutes).

9. Consent Agenda – Action Item

Appointments to Peer review teams for adjunct faculty requested by the Deans of the following schools:

School of Applied Technology and Business

Adrienne Cary

Deb Berrett

John Urrutia

Karen Cook

Kevin Anderson

Kevin Spoelstra

Laura Maghoney

Lavonne Slaton

Mark Berrett

Patricia Barnes

Paul Hidy

Rusty Mayes

Sarah Nordin

Shaunice Cole

School of Math and Sciences

Brad Paschal Kiran Kaur **Cristina Young** Maria Santiago Ed Re Melanie Lutz James DeKloe Rennee Moore James Word Sandra Diehl Joe Conrad Susana Gunther John Higashi Thomas Grube **Kathy Conrad** Willi Martinelli

Khek Sengmany

School of Social & Behavioral Science

Anthony Ayala Tasha Smith

Dale Crandall-Bear Thomas Bundenthal Lauren Taylor Hill Tonmar Johnson

Michelle Arce

10. Action Items, Including Items Removed from Consent

10.01 Hiring priorities time-line for AY 2018 – 19 10.02 Updated *Faculty Staffing Request Form*

11. Information/Discussion Items

11.01 College Budget and the Funding Formula – Rob Diamond (25 min) 11.02 Course Repetition form and AP discrepancy – Rebecca LaCount (10 min)

12. Senate Subcommittee Reports

12.01 Assessment Committee – Amy Obegi - 5 min

12.02 Distance Education – Erica Beam– 5 min

12.03 Professional Development/Flex Cal – Michelle Smith - 5 min

13. Other Committees

13.01 Guided Pathways Steering Committee – Michael Wyly– 5 min

14. Upcoming Items and/or Action Reminder

14.01 Academic Program Review – Ferdinanda Florence - 5 min 14.02 Basic Skills/Student Success – Joshua Scott– 5 min

14.03 Curriculum - Jim DeKloe - 5 min

14.04 First Year Experience – Melissa Reeve - 5 minutes

15. Adjournment

ALL MEETINGS WILL BE HELD FROM 3:00-5:00 PM IN THE BOARD ROOM UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED

October 1, 2018

October 15, 2018 (Meeting held in Vacaville Biotech building)

October 29, 2018 (Tentative EEO with Rita Cameron-Wedding)

November 5, 2018

November 19, 2018 (Hiring priorities)

November 26, 2018

December 3, 2018

December 17, 2018 (Tentative)

January 10, 2019

January 28, 2019

February 4, 2019

February 25, 2019

March 4, 2019

March 18, 2019

April 1, 2019

April 22, 2019

May 6, 2019

May 13, 2019