

ACADEMIC SENATE

AGENDA

May 4, 2020 Meeting via Zoom 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm

				_
1.	Call	tο	Orc	l۵r
	Can	···	\mathbf{v}	

2. Roll Call

Academic Senate Officers: LaNae Jaimez (President), Rebecca LaCount (Acting Vice President), Erin Duane (Secretary/Treasurer, At-Large), and Michael Wyly (Past President/Ex-Officio).

Academic Senate: Andrew Wesley, Anthony Ayala, Erica Beam, Jose Cortes, Margherita Molnar, Michael Reilly, Michelle Arce, Paul Hidy, Randy Robertson, Robin Sytsma, Scott Parrish, Teri Brunner, and Vitalis Enemmuo.

Sheila Kaushal (Administrative Assistant)

Ex Officio:

Andrew Wesley (Assessment Chair), Erica Beam (Distance Education Chair), Ferdinanda Florence (Academic Program Review Chair), Jim DeKloe (Curriculum/Tech Review Chair), TBD (Student Success and Equity Chair), and Michelle Smith (Professional Development/Flex Cal Chair).

Guests: Celia Esposito-Noy (Superintendent-President), David Williams (Vice President of Academic Affairs), Rachel Purdie, Jim Long, and Sarah Barsness.

3. Agenda Approval

May 4, 2020

4. Approval of Minutes

April 20, 2020

5. Comments from the Public

Members of the public may address the Senate on any item within the Senate's purview that is not on the agenda. The Senate will not take action on any issue raised during this section of the agenda since Senate action is limited to posted agenda items. At the Senate President's discretion, these matters may be referred to Senate Executive Board and/or placed on a future agenda. Speakers are asked to limit their comments to a maximum of three minutes.

6. AS President Update

Academic Senate President Report (15 minutes)

6.1 Introducing New Senators

- 6.2 2020 Leadership Conference: Rebecca LaCount, Anthony Ayala, and Michelle Arce
- 6.3 2020-2021 Academic Senate and Committee Calendar
- 6.4 Virtual Faculty Happy Hour
- 6.5 Other
- 7. Superintendent-President Report

Celia Esposito-Noy (10 minutes)

8. VP of Academic Affairs Report

David Williams (5 minutes)

9. Consent Agenda – Action Item

There are no items in this section.

- 10. Action Items, Including Items Removed from Consent
- 10.1 BP/AP General Education Waiver for Bachelor's Degree LaNae Jaimez, Rebecca LaCount, and David Williams (15 minutes)
 10.2 Faculty/Canvas LaNae Jaimez (10 minutes)
- 11. Information/Discussion Items
- 11.1 2019-2020 Distinguished Faculty Announcement Andrew Wesley (2 minutes)
- 11.2 Lunch Celebration For Tenure Tea/Distinguish Faculty/Resolution (3 minutes)
- 11.3 Automatic Conversion of F to EW LaNae Jaimez (10 minutes) 11.4 2021-2022 SCC Academic Calendar Update David Williams (5 minutes)
- 11.5 Academic Senate Priorities for 2019-2020 AY (20 minutes)

- 12. Reports
- 12.1 Academic Program Review Ferdinanda Florence (10 minutes)
- 12.2 Curriculum/Tech Review Jim DeKloe (10 minutes)
- 12.3 Assessment Andrew Wesley (10 minutes)
- 12.4 Distance Education Erica Beam (10 minutes)
- 12.5 Professional Development/Flex Cal Michelle Smith (10 minutes)
- 13. Other Committees
- 13.1 Guided Pathway Steering Committee Michael Wyly (5 minutes)
- 13.2 First Year Experience Melissa Reeve (5 minutes)
- 14. Upcoming Items and/or Action Reminder

There are no items in this section.

15. Adjournment

ALL MEETINGS WILL BE HELD FROM 3:00-5:00 PM IN THE BOARD ROOM UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED May 11, 2020 (Tentative Meeting)