

Academic Senate Solano Community College 400 Suisun Valley Road, Fairfield, CA 94534 www.solano.edu/academic_senate

Senate Resolution 8.31.2020c: Honoring Erica Beam and Carol Zadnik for their ability to pivot on a moment's notice to train and support Solano Community College faculty as we moved all of our courses to an online format in the Spring of 2020 and as we continue to prepare for online instruction due to the continued impact of the COVID-19 pandemic;

WHEREAS, in March 2020, the world was hit by the COVID–19 pandemic causing Solano Community College to move all of its courses to an online format within a week's time;

WHEREAS, the majority of Solano Community College faculty had not taught online at the time and needed training and support;

WHEREAS, Erica Beam and Carol Zadnik stepped up at a moment's notice without hesitation to take the lead in creating training opportunities and support for Solano Community College faculty as they moved their courses to an online format;

WHEREAS, emergency measures allowing all faculty to teach online and all courses to be taught online expire in Spring 2021, necessitating the need for faculty to be certified as online instructors and courses to approved for online instruction through the Solano Community College curriculum process;

WHEREAS, Erica Beam and Carol Zadnik once again stepped up to take the lead on a DE training plan to certify over 200 faculty and the development of a process for faculty to submit over 600 courses to our curriculum committee for official approval to be taught in an online format;

WHEREAS, Erica Beam and Carol Zadnik have been working tirelessly and endlessly since March 2020 to help Solano Community College faculty transition to online teaching and prepare for online instruction this Fall 2020 and semesters to come;

RESOLVED, that the Academic Senate and faculty of Solano Community College recognize Erica Beam and Carol Zadnik for their Herculean effort and offer them our gratitude and thanks.

Authors: Senate Executive Team

LaNae Jaimez, President Josh Scott, Vice President Erin Duane, Secretary/Treasurer Michael Wyly, Past President