

# **ACADEMIC SENATE**

#### **AGENDA**

October 25, 2021 Meeting via Zoom 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm

**SPECIAL MEETING (Hiring Prioritization for 2022-2023 AY)** 

# 1. Call to Order/Land Acknowledgement

We should take a moment to acknowledge the land on which we are gathered. For thousands of years, this land has been the home of PUTT-win people. Today, there are three federally recognized Patwin tribes: CATCH-ill DEEHEE Band of WIN- tune Indians of the Colusa Indian Community, KLET-SELL DEE-HEE Band of Wintun Indians, and YO-chuh DEE-HEE Wintun Nation. The Patwin people have remained committed to the stewardship of this land over many centuries. It has been cherished and protected, as elders have instructed the young through generations. We are honored and grateful to be here today on their traditional lands.

#### 2. Roll Call

Academic Senate Officers: LaNae Jaimez (President), Josh Scott (Vice President), Erin Duane (Secretary/Treasurer, At-Large), and Michael Wyly (Past President/Ex-Officio)

**Academic Senate:** Andrew Wesley, Anthony Ayala, Erica Beam, Jim Long, Jose Cortes, Lauren Taylor-Hill, Michael Reilly, Paul Hidy, Rachel Purdie, Randy Robertson, Rebecca LaCount, Rhuenette Alums, Robin Sytsma, and Vitalis Enemmuo

Christina Taliaferro (Administrative Assistant)

#### Ex Officio:

Andrew Wesley (Assessment Chair), Erica Beam (Distance Education Chair), Rachel Purdie (Academic Program Review Chair), Sarah Barsness (Curriculum/Tech Review Chair), Heather Watson-Perez (Student Success and Equity Chair), and Michelle Smith (Professional Development/Flex Cal Chair)

**Guests:** Celia Esposito-Noy (Superintendent-President), David Williams (Vice President of Academic Affairs), Shannon Cooper (Vice President of Student Services), Dean Joe Ryan, Dean Kristin Conner, Dean Lisa Neeley, Dean Neil Glines, Dean Sandy Lamba, Dean Sheila Hudson, and Dean Tony Zitko

Faculty Presenters: TBD

#### 3. Agenda Approval

October 25, 2021

4. Approval of Minutes

There are no items in this section.

5. Comments from the Public

Members of the public may address the Senate on any item within the Senate's purview that is not on the agenda. The Senate will not take action on any issue raised during this section of the agenda since Senate action is limited to posted agenda items. At the Senate President's discretion, these matters may be referred to Senate Executive Board and/or placed on a future agenda. Speakers are asked to limit their comments to a maximum of three minutes.

**6. AS President Update** 

AS President LaNae Jaimez (no report)

7. Superintendent-President Report

Celia Esposito-Noy (no report)

8. VP of Academic Affairs Report

David Williams (no report)

9. Consent Agenda – Action Item

There are no items in this section.

10. Action Items, Including Items Removed from Consent

There are no items in this section.

11. Information/Discussion Items

11.1 Faculty Hiring Priorities 2022-2023 Academic Year – AS President, LaNae Jaimez and VP, David Williams

12. Reports

There are no items in this section.

13. Other Committees

There are no items in this section.

# 14. Upcoming Items and/or Action Reminder

14.01 Academic Program Review – Rachel Purdie (1st meeting of the month)

14.02 Student Equity and Success Council – Heather Watson Perez (1st meeting of the month)

14.03 Curriculum/Tech Review – Sarah Barsness (1<sup>st</sup> meeting of the month)

14.04 Assessment Committee – Andrew Wesley (2<sup>nd</sup> meeting of the month)

14.05 Distance Education – Erica Beam ( $2^{nd}$  meeting of the month) 14.06 Professional Development/Flex Cal – Michelle Smith ( $2^{nd}$  meeting of the month)

14.07 Guided Pathways Steering Committee – Melissa Reeve (1st meeting of the month

## 15. Adjournment

### ALL MEETINGS WILL BE HELD FROM 3:00-5:00 PM VIA ZOOM UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED.

November 8, 2021

November 22, 2021

December 6, 2021

January 13, 2022

January 24, 2022

February 14, 2022

February 28, 2022

March 14, 2022

March 28, 2022

April 18, 2022

April 25, 2022

May 9, 2022

May 16, 2022 (Tentative)