

### **ACADEMIC SENATE**

AGENDA
May 9, 2022
Meeting via Zoom
3:00pm – 5:00pm

## 1. Call to Order/Land Acknowledgement

We should take a moment to acknowledge the land on which we are gathered. For thousands of years, this land has been the home of PUTT-win people. Today, there are three federally recognized Patwin tribes: CATCH-ill DEEHEE Band of WIN- tune Indians of the Colusa Indian Community, KLET-SELL DEE-HEE Band of Wintun Indians, and YO-chuh DEE-HEE Wintun Nation. The Patwin people have remained committed to the stewardship of this land over many centuries. It has been cherished and protected, as elders have instructed the young through generations. We are honored and grateful to be here today on their traditional lands.

#### 2. Roll Call

#### **Academic Senate Officers:**

LaNae Jaimez (President)
Josh Scott (Vice President)
Erin Duane (Secretary/Treasurer, At-Large)
Michael Wyly (Past President/Ex-Officio)

#### **Academic Senate**

Mathematics & SciencesLiberal ArtsJim LongMichael ReillyRandy RobertsonJose Cortes

Applied Technology & Business Counseling
Erica Beam Rebecca LaCount
Paul Hidy

Social & Behavioral Sciences
Lauren Taylor-Hill
Anthony Ayala

Full-Time Senator At-Large
Rachel Purdie
Erin Duane

Health SciencesAdjunct Senator At-LargeVitalis EnemmuoRhuenette AlumsRobin SytsmaAndrew Wesley

#### Ex Officio:

Andrew Wesley (Assessment Chair)
John Perez (Distance Education Chair)
Rachel Purdie (Academic Program Review Chair)
Sarah Barsness (Curriculum/Tech Review Chair)
Heather Watson-Perez (Student Success and Equity Chair)
Michelle Smith (Professional Development/Flex Cal Chair)

Christina Taliaferro (Administrative Assistant)

#### **Guests:**

Celia Esposito-Noy (Superintendent-President)
David Williams (Vice President of Academic Affairs)
Shannon Cooper (Vice President of Student Services)
Isabel Anderson

3. Agenda Approval

May 9, 2022

4. Approval of Minutes

April 25, 2022

5. Comments from the Public

Members of the public may address the Senate on any item within the Senate's purview that is not on the agenda. The Senate will not take action on any issue raised during this section of the agenda since Senate action is limited to posted agenda items. At the Senate President's discretion, these matters may be referred to Senate Executive Board and/or placed on a future agenda. Speakers are asked to limit their comments to a maximum of three minutes.

#### 6. AS President Update

#### AS President LaNae Jaimez (15 minutes)

12.3 Graduation

Graduation 2022 Task List.xlsx (sharepoint.com)

- 6.2 Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month See Attachment
- 6.3 "The Center"
- 6.4 Evaluation of the Hiring Prioritization
- 6.5 Math & English Forum
- 6.6 Review of SEA Plan
- 6.7 Student Participation in Hiring Process
- 6.8 Senate Positions (Unfilled Positions; ATB Senators; Senators and Representatives for Rising Scholars and other programs)
- 6.9 Peer Review
- 6.10 VPSS Hiring Update
- 6.11 Tenure Tea
- 6.12 Other

7. Superintendent-President Report Celia Esposito-Noy (10 minutes)

8. VP of Academic Affairs Report

**David Williams (10 minutes)** 

9. VP of Student Services Report

**Shannon Cooper (10 minutes)** 

10. Consent Agenda – Action Item

10.1 Peer Reviewers for the School of Health Sciences

Debbie Dorrough

Deborah Davis (adjunct)

Scott Parrish

Mary Gabbard (adjunct)

Myra Kargbo Jeff Cardinal

11. Action Items, Including Items Removed from Consent

11.1 Updates to Senate <u>Constitution</u> and <u>By-Laws</u> LaNae Jaimez (5 minutes)

- 11.2 Academic Senate Calendar for 2022-2023 <u>See Attachment</u>
  Josh Scott (5 minutes)
- 11.3 Distinguished Faculty Monetary Award Rebecca LaCount (5 minutes)
- 11.4 May 16<sup>th</sup> Tentative Meeting LaNae Jaimez (5 minutes)

## 12. Information/Discussion Items

- 12.1 Update on Journalism
  Michael Wyly & Isabel Anderson (10 minutes)
- 12.2 Distinguished Faculty Awards
  Rebecca LaCount (10 minutes)
- 12.3 Taskforce: Updated Terminology for Academic Standing LaNae Jaimez (5 minutes)
- 12.4 Accreditation Steering Committee David Williams (5 minutes)
- 12.5 Gratitude Practice LaNae Jaimez & David Williams (10 minutes)

- See Attachment

#### 13. Reports

#### 13.1 Senate and Sub-Committee End-of-Year Self-Assessments

- Academic Senate LaNae Jaimez
- Academic Program Review Rachel Purdie
- Assessment Committee Andrew Wesley
- Curriculum/Tech Review Sarah Barsness
- Distance Education John Perez
- Professional Development/Flex Cal Michelle Smith
- Student Equity and Success Council Heather Watson-Perez

#### 2021-2022 Committee Goals and Mid-Year Self-Assessments

<u>Academic Program Review</u> - Rachel Purdie

**Assessment Committee - Andrew Wesley** 

Curriculum/Tech Review - Sarah Barsness

Professional Development/Flex Cal - Michelle Smith

Student Equity and Success Council - Heather Watson-Perez

N/A - Distance Education – John Perez

#### 14. Other Committees

# 15. Upcoming Items and/or Action Reminder

#### 15.1 1<sup>st</sup> Meeting of the Month:

Academic Program Review – Rachel Purdie Student Equity and Success Council – Heather Watson-Perez Curriculum/Tech Review – Sarah Barsness Guided Pathways Steering Committee – Melissa Reeve

#### 15.2 2<sup>nd</sup> Meeting of the Month:

Assessment Committee – Andrew Wesley
Distance Education – John Perez
Professional Development/Flex Cal – Michelle Smith

#### 15.3 Other

#### **Fall Meetings**

Forms Taskforce

#### 16. Adjournment

May 16, 2022 (Tentative)